The Indiana Journal of Law and Social Equality (“IJLSE”) serves as an interdisciplinary academic forum for scholars, practitioners, policymakers, and students to contribute to society’s understanding of legal and policy issues concerning social justice and equality. IJLSE aims to become a major outlet for leading scholars and practitioners to improve race and gender relations, shed light on new areas of social equality, foster continued research in and across the disciplines, and provide the intellectual foundation for the pursuit of social justice.  IJLSE also holds an annual symposium in the spring to discuss topics of contemporary social significance.  We invite leading academia and representatives to Bloomington, Indiana to discuss future research on these topics and share their insights with our journal associates.

To download the latest edition of our journal, please visit our repository or click “Online Edition” above.  Suggested citation: 3 Ind. J. of L. & Soc. Eq. 1 (2015).


IJLSE would like to thank all of our speakers and participants for helping to makelivingwithout this year’s Symposium, Living Without in America, such a success.

If you have been chosen to complete a manuscript for Volume 4 and would like to submit your article to IJLSE, please email it to our Executive Articles Editor at (subject line: “Completed Article Vol. 4 [Last Name]”). The deadline for initial draft submissions is July 1, 2015.

2015 Symposium Speakers

Professor Felice Batlan – Illinois Institute of Technology Chicago-Kent School of Law
Professor Emily Benfer – Loyola University of Chicago School of Law
Professor David B. Grusky – Stanford University
Professor Julie D. Lawton – DePaul University College of Law
Professor Francine Lipman – University of Nevada, Las Vegas William S. Boyd School of Law
Professor Elizabeth MacDowell – University of Nevada, Las Vegas William S. Boyd School of Law
Professor Jody Raphael – DePaul University College of Law
Professor Kerry Ryan – St. Louis University School of Law
Professor Annie Smith – University of Arkansas School of Law
Professor Stacey L. Tutt – University of Illinois College of Law